How to Open Your Root Chakra with Affirmations

The 7 chakras are the main energy centres of the body. Each chakra has a distinct location on the body and is responsible for a different emotional frequency. When the chakras are in balance they allow energy to effortlessly flow through the body.

Unfortunately for most of us this isn’t the case. Blocked chakras mean that you have stored trauma in the body. These blockages can cause physical, mental and emotional suffering.

A powerful way to unblock your chakras and activate your Kundalini energy is through affirmations, the root chakra should be your first stop on your spiritual journey. What we’ll cover

    What is the Root Chakra?

    If you’re here to practice root chakra affirmations, you’ve started at the right place. The root chakra is the first chakra and is the foundation for all 7 chakras. It’s located at the base of the spine and is closely related to basic human instincts.

    The root chakra is where we store emotional energy relating to safety, survival and a sense of belonging. These can be basic needs like food and shelter, but more importantly emotional needs like security, feeling safe and grounded. When these needs aren't met, the root chakra is blocked which can create havoc in the body. 

    Practicing modalities like affirmations, breathwork, kundalini meditation and reiki can all actively help to unblock the root chakra.

    Is my Root Chakra Blocked?

    The root chakra is closely tied to fear, anxiety and the ‘fight or flight’ response. The ‘fight or flight’ response is an automatic physiological reaction crucial for survival in life-threatening situations. It sends the body into stress and prepares us for a fight.

    In today's society, the threat is no longer a dangerous predator around the corner, it’s the everyday stresses of life like; work, relationships, family and so on. This places the body in a constant state of stress, with the 'fight or flight' response becoming the default setting for those with a blocked root chakra.

    When you’re constantly anxious and fearful, the body believes that you’re in danger and activates the parasympathetic nervous system. This sets off a series of chemical changes in the body and leads to mental and physical distress. Here are some signs that you have a blocked root chakra:

    Physical Signs of a Blocked Root Chakra

    • Inflammation
    • Shortened breath
    • Intestinal issues (constipation, diarrhoea) 
    • Sluggishness
    • Cramps

    Mental Signs of a Blocked Root Chakra

    • Fear
    • Anxiety
    • Insecurity 
    • Lethargy
    • Pessimism 

    Why Should I Use Root Chakra Affirmations?

    So you’ve looked at the signs and realised you have a blocked root chakra. A great way to unblock this energy centre is through root chakra affirmations. But how? Our subconscious mind plays on a constant loop.

    You think about 90% of the same thoughts today as you did yesterday. When your default setting is fear and anxiety your subconscious programming will continue to affirm that you’re fearful and anxious.

    Positive root chakra affirmations are a great way to start to reprogram the subconscious chatter in your mind. When you practice these affirmations you’re feeding new signals to the brain. When practiced consistently you begin to shift your subconscious programming and create a new default setting. 

    How to Open Your Root Chakra with Affirmations

    It’s not enough to just recite the words. This is a huge misconception about affirmations. The reason for this is linked to the law of attraction which states that like attracts like. You can’t simply just say the words “I am fearless” over and over again, your brain won't believe you. You have to believe it and match the vibrational energy of that feeling. Replicating the feeling of being fearless will help to elevate your emotional frequency. Now, you're saying the words, you're feeling the positive emotions in the body and you're signalling to the brain that there is a change. This helps to activate the root chakra and send new signals to the subconscious mind. We recommend reciting your affirmations as follows: 

    1. Find a quiet space to sit or lie down (ensure that your spine is straight)
    2. Take a slow, deep conscious breath
    3. In through the nose, into the belly, then the chest and out through the mouth like you’re blowing out a candle
    4. Repeat 3 times

    Now that your mind is clear and relaxed you’re ready to recite your affirmations

    1. Close your eyes
    2. Focus your mind on the area at the base of your spine (see image below)
    3. Say the affirmation in your head or out loud: “I release all fear” 
    4. Feel what it would be like to release all fear (what do you look like when you’re fearless? What are you doing? What have you achieved?)
    5. Feel the joy, happiness and gratitude that you would if the words were true right now (this will be challenging in the beginning)
    6. Repeat the affirmation 3 times 
    7. After the 3rd repetition take 1 deep conscious breath
    8. Move on to the next affirmation and repeat

    The more you practice this technique, the more you will raise your emotional frequency and vibration. Try to recite 3 affirmations per day using this method for one week and see how it makes you feel. 

    33 Root Chakra Affirmations 

    1. I am safe and where I need to be
    2. I am secure in all that I am
    3. I am grounded
    4. I am in control 
    5. I am connected to the earth
    6. I am connected to my body
    7. I am whole exactly as I am 
    8. I am connected to nature
    9. I am independent
    10. I am financially secure 
    11. I am rooted in the present moment
    12. I am protected
    13. I am balanced
    14. I am at home, wherever I am
    15. I am open
    16. I am grateful
    17. I am successful
    18. I am abundant 
    19. I am fearless, I act fearlessly
    20. I am exactly where I need to be
    21. I am powerful
    22. I am free
    23. I am supported
    24. I feel safe in my body
    25. I feel radiant
    26. I release all fear
    27. I release all doubt
    28. I release any trauma that binds me
    29. I release anxiety
    30. I release mental burdens 
    31. I wake up fearless
    32. I wake up everyday feeling empowered
    33. I inhale trust and I exhale fear

    Final Thoughts 

    Affirmations are great way to activate your Kundalini energy and open your root chakra. For most of us, feelings of fear and anxiety are causing underlying health issues that we don't even realise.

    Connecting your words with an elevated emotion will help to reprogram the subconscious mind and shift you away from anxiety and into security. Like anything, mastering this method requires consistency , practice and patience. 

    We recommend trying it for 30 days and seeing how you feel, it generally takes 30 days to begin to feel a shift. If you are struggling with anxiety we also recommend to consult your health physician.

    Post Tags

    Author Bio

    I am a meditation coach and practitioner who gets to spend their day transforming people's lives. I have a special interest in meditation, yoga and the chakras. I've seen countless lives changed through these practices and I intend to see some more!